Research Schools Network

Sector-Led Support for Evidence-based PracticeRS

We are very proud to announce that Aspirer has been chosen to become one of only five research schools across the country to become focal-points of education research after winning part of £2.5m of funding from the Education Endowment Foundation (EEF) and the Institute for Effective Education (IEE). The new Research Schools will build networks between large numbers of schools in their region and support them to make better use of evidence to inform their teaching and learning.

The five Research Schools, appointed following a competitive application process, are:                                  

Aspirer Teaching School Alliance, based at Ash Grove Academy, Macclesfield 

Huntington School, York

Kingsbridge Community College, Devon

Kyra Teaching School Alliance, Lincoln

Shireland Collegiate Academy, Sandwell

There are many evidence-based resources and tools available to help improve teaching practice and raise the attainment of pupils, but it can be difficult to get research into schools in ways that really make a difference in the classroom.

Research Schools aim to lead the way in the use of evidence-based practice. Through the network they will share what they know about putting research into practice, and support schools in their region to make better use of evidence to inform their teaching and learning so that they really make a difference in the classroom.

They will do this by:

  • Encouraging schools in their network to make use of evidence-based programmes and practices through regular communication and events
  • Providing training and professional development for senior leaders and teachers on how to improve classroom practice based on the best available evidence
  • Supporting schools to develop innovative ways of improving teaching and learning and providing them with the expertise to evaluate their impact.

The EEF and IEE will appoint a further five Research Schools in 2016-17 to ensure that more schools have the opportunity to be supported by the expertise within these networks. Each of the ten schools will receive £200,000 over three years to enable them to fulfil their roles.